Thursday, April 11, 2024

Drg Drsya Viveka 4 Trans/Notes


Desire, determination and doubt, faith and faithlessness, perseverance and its opposite, humility, understanding, fear. and more is illuminated by unchanging consciousness.


Kāmaḥ saṅkalpa-sandehau śraddhā’śraddhe dhṛtītare, hrīr-dhīr-bhīr-ityevam-ādīn bhāsayatyekadhā citiḥ.

कामः – desire; संकल्प-संदेहौ – thought of willing and doubt; श्रद्धा-अश्रद्धे – belief and disbelief; धृतीतरे – fortitude and its opposite; ह्री – modesty; धीः – understanding; भीः – fear; इति एवम् आदीन् – and such others; भासयति – illumines; एकधा – remaining the same; चितिः – Consciousness

Consciousness remaining the same, illumines the thoughts of desire, willingness, doubt, belief, disbelief, fortitude, and its lack thereof, modesty, understanding, fear and such others.


चिति: Consciousness काम: desire संकल्पसन्देहौ determination and doubt श्रद्धाश्रद्धे faith and want of faith धृतीतरे steadiness and its opposite ह्री: modesty धी: understanding भी: fear इत्येवमादीन् and such others एकधा unified भासयति illumines.

Consciousness illumines (such other mental states as) desire, (1) determination (2) and doubt, faith (3) and want of faith, steadiness (4) and its opposite, modesty, understanding, fear and others, (5) because it (Consciousness) is a unity.


The thoughts of desire, willingness or doubt,

belief or disbelief, fortitude or its lack,

modesty, understanding, fear, and such others –

Consciousness, remaining the same, illumines them all.



These thoughts may be of different degrees of intensity. For instance, desire may be just a wish, a need, a longing, a panting hunger or an overwhelming obsession. All dramas on the stage of life are a complicated intermingling of different thoughts. These are all witnessed by the same Consciousness. The seen is limited, changing, inert, perishable and sorrow giving. The Seer is free from the nature of the seen. I am the infinite, immutable, eternal Consciousness and of the nature of Bliss.


The list of the states or functions of the mind have been adopted from the Bṛhadāraṇyaka Upaniṣad (1.5.3).


This seer 3 is unlike the other two seers. It is ever the seer and never the seen. It is ever the experiencer and never the experienced. One should never look for the experience of ātmā. When we say that we do not have the experience of the ātmā, we make the blunder of thinking that one day we will get that experience in future and this indicates that we think that ātmā is an object of our experience. The author says that there is no such thing as the experience of ātmā because ātmā is ever the experiencer.


Translators / Commentators Legend

A: Aumdada

D: Dayananda

N: Nikhilananda

P: Paramarthananda

S: Sandeepany

T: Tejomayananda

No comments:

Post a Comment